Pilot Hill 25K Trail Run


Jun 04, 2022 at 8:00 AM

Pilot Hill 25K Trail Run

3905 Grand Ave #10

Laramie WY, 82070


Entry Fee $15
(Lowest or Early Registration)

Entry Fee 2 $18
(Highest or Late Registration)

Prize Money: no


  • 25K
  • 8K

Type: Trail

High Point: 9600

Percent of the course on un-paved trails: 90%

Men's Record: 2019 Tait Rutherford (25) 1:36:31

Masters Men Record: 2014 Nick Clark (40) 1:39:41

Women's Record: 2017 Lillie Romeiser (32)1:55:18


The Pilot Hill 25K Classic is the oldest continuously run footrace in Wyoming. The race has its roots back in the 1970’s when a group of local runners and university cross country team members decided to begin their summer training by racing from Laramie to the top of Pilot Hill and back down. At that time, trail running was a “fringe sport” — the running boom that was sweeping the nation was confined primarily to the roads. Pilot Hill tries to hold true to its roots–by providing a “down home” race that won’t break the bank while celebrating the sport that all of us love.

The Pilot Hill Race is run mostly on rugged two-track. It crosses sandy flats, runs over some lowgrade hills, and climbs up (and descends down) some pretty gnarly weathered limestone. The top of Pilot Hill (at 8600 ft) is one of the highest points in the Sherman Mountains (Laramie Range) that sits east of the town of Laramie. From the top, you will be afforded great views of the Laramie Valley and across to the west to the Snowy Range of the Medicine Bow Mountains, and to the south in Colorado: the Rawahs and Front Range.


No photos available.


Past Event Dates

Held on Jun 04, 2022

Held on Jun 05, 2021

Held on Jun 01, 2019

Held on Jun 02, 2018

Held on Jun 03, 2017

Held on Jun 11, 2016

Held on Jun 07, 2014

Held on Jun 01, 2013

Held on Jun 09, 2012

Held on Jun 04, 2011

Held on Jun 05, 2010

Held on Jun 06, 2009

Held on Jun 30, 2007

Held on Jun 25, 2005

Held on Jun 26, 2004

Held on Jun 28, 2003

Held on Jun 29, 2002

Held on Jun 30, 2001

Held on Jun 24, 2000

Event Results

View 2021 Results