Regional Captains Named for Our 25th Anniversary Challenge

Five experienced trail runners have been named regional “team captains” for our 25th Anniversary Challenge which opened registration on the 25th day of August and kicks off on September 1. Founded in 1996, the American Trail Running Association will be 25 years young in 2021.

This three-tiered virtual event kicks off with the first challenge on September 1, and will continue through the end of the year. Registration packages range from $25 to $175 and are hosted by FitRankings.

Trail runners around the globe are invited to register and participate in a fun, virtual challenge complete with regional and individual leaderboards as well as weekly trail teasers published on the ATRA 25th Anniversary Challenge Facebook Group. Regions include the Northeast, South, Midwest, West, and International and will be captained by five trail runners who will help inspire and motivate the participants in their regions.

Let’s get to know our 25th Anniversary Challenge regional team captains!


Tim McNamara (Old Brookville, NY) – Northeast region. McNamara (pictured above, right) is a corrective exercise specialist, concentrating on sport performance, injury prevention, and the muscular structure that supports the efforts of the body; a nationally certified ACE Group fitness instructor, running/triathlon coach, and outdoor enthusiast with 20+ years of experience in the fitness industry. Having successfully completed numerous Ultra marathons and 4 Ironman triathlons, McNamara has educated, inspired, and motivated people by helping adopt a more healthy and fit lifestyle.

Roy Challenge

Roy Pirrung (Sheboygan, WI) – Midwest region. Pirrung’s first race was at age 32 in 1981, shortly after he kicked a two-pack-a-day cigarette habit. In 2007, he was named the masters ultra runner of the year for his stellar campaign in the 2007 season. Pirrung earned the title of best masters’ ultra man by dominating his age group in 2008, in championship races from 50 miles to 24 hours. He is a motivational speaker and continues to race on the trails, track, and road.

Challenge Sherb

Robert “Sherb” Sherburn (Dallas, TX) – South region. Sherb loves cooking, running, skiing, hiking, cycling, skydiving and generally anything outdoors. He is a certified Road Runners Club of American (RRCA) running coach, and has worked in the athletic event space since 2011 executing events with major national brands. “After working race operations for events across the country and traveling with a national race series, and I’ve aligned my efforts in the trail running niche by partnering with ATRA, The US Trail Running Conference, and TransRockies Race Series events. I look forward to helping y’all reach your goals, so let’s have some FUN during the 25th Anniversary Challenge!”

Nancy Hobbs (Colorado Springs, CO) – West region. Hobbs (pictured top of page) is the founder and executive director of the American Trail Running Association and has been running trails and directing running events since the mid-80s. She is the co-author of four Trail Running Guide Books and the Ultimate Guide to Trail Running. Still competing on the roads and trails, her passion for the sport hasn’t waned since she ran her first race in 1980.

Peter Nancy Challenge

Peter Maksimow (Manitou Springs, CO) – International region. Maksimow was a member of Team USA’s silver medal-winning team at the 2015 World Long Distance Mountain Running Championships in Zermatt, Switzerland. He is an inov-8 sponsored trail runner who has raced and traveled extensively around the world. He also imbibes in fine beers and once organized a beer mile race at the 14,115-foot summit of Pikes Peak and up the 2,000-foot Manitou Incline.

Click the green “Sign Up” button below to join the challenge!

Are you wondering what region you live in? Our challenge regions are:

  • Region 1: Northeast – Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania
  • Region 2: Midwest- Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota
  • Region 3: South – Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, District of Columbia, West Virginia, Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee, Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas
  • Region 4: West – Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming, Alaska, California, Hawaii, Oregon, and Washington
  • Region 5: International