International Trail Running Association elects new Steering Committee

ATRA Director of Marketing Richard Bolt has been elected to this new ITRA steering committee.  Richard is also the United States delegate to the World Mountain Running Association’s annual Congress Meeting and a long-time member of USA Track & Field’s Mountain, Ultra & Trail (MUT) Council.  

Following the adoption of the new International Trail Running Association (ITRA) statutes as of the Annual General Meeting held in Braga (Portugal) on October 29th 2016, a new steering committee was elected this past week for 4 year terms.

The steering committee is composed of 8 institutional (federation) members, 8 organizer (race director) members, 4 runner (athlete) members and 2 founding members for a total of 22 members. 63 candidates from 27 countries were eligible to receive votes.

After 2 rounds of voting the composition of the new Steering Committee is:

Founding members:
Jose Carlos SANTOS DOS MORAIS – Portugal
Michel POLETTI – France

Institutional (Federation) members:
Jose Antonio Martins FERNANDES – Confederação Brasileira de Atletismo
Michel HUERTAS – French Athletic Federation
Pablo VEGA – Real Federación Española de Atletismo
Piotr BETKOWSKI – Polish Athletics Federation
Richard BOLT – USA Track & Field
Tito TIBERTI – Federazione Italiana Di Atletica Leggera
Rui PINHO – Associação Trail Running Portugal
Daniel PEREZ GARRIDO – Confederación Atlética del Uruguay

Organizers (Race Directors) members:
Cristina MURGIA – Italy
Enrico POLLINI – Italy
Mario LEAL – Portugal
Janet NG – Hong Kong
Fernando GONZALEZ DIAZ – Spain
Alen PALISKA – Croatia
Krzysztof GAJDZINSKI – Poland
Michael DE HAAST – South Africa

Runners members:
Gediminas GRINIUS – Lithuania
Nathalie MAUCLAIR – France
Sébastien CHAIGNEAU – France
Sidney TOGUMI – Brazil

For the first time since it’s inception the steering committee contains representatives from national athletics federations. Federation representation is necessary for ITRA’s future recognition by the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF).

Information about the 2017 ITRA Annual General Meeting, lists of candidates and election results can be found here.

Tags: ,