Dani Filipek and Chris Raulli win the USATF 50 Mile Trail Championships

Written by USATF Championship Liaison Joe Jurczyk. Cayuga Trails 50 photos by Joe Jurczyk.

The 2017 USA Track & Field (USATF) 50 Mile Trail Championships were held on Saturday, June 3 in conjunction with the Cayuga Trails 50 Mile.

Taking place at Robert Treman State Park near Ithaca, NY, weather was seasonal (high of 71F) but a slightly tougher course this year meant that the course records were not in jeopardy.

This year’s men’s race was won by Chris Raulli of Manlius, NY who led from the beginning and finished with a time of 7:32:03 followed by Michael Owen of Pomeroy, OH (7:41:46) and Zach Merrin of North Canton, OH (7:52:39). Rounding out the Top 10 Overall Males were Cole Crosby of Endicott, NY (7:57:30), Matt Flaherty of Bloomington, IN (7:59:26), Ben Nephew of Westborough, MA (8:07:51), Russell Brown of Lenexa, KS (8:22:19), Scotie Jacobs of Freeville, NY (8:26:52), Yassine Diboun of Portland, OR (8:34:16) and Ian Schouten of Lititz, PA (8:41:10).

Age group winners were Ben Nephew (40-44), Philip Vondra of New Paltz , NY (45-49) in 9:00:19, Ian Schouten (50-54), Ted Cowles of West Granby, CT (55-59) in 13:27:26, Atlee Burpee of Conshohocken, PA (60-64) in 11:59:42, and Gene Dykes of Bala Cynwyd, PA (65-69) in 11:04:21.

For the females Dani Filipek of Rochester Hills, MI (9:03:18) took the top honors with Sabrina Little of Robinson, TX in second with a time of 9:21:28. Third Place honors went to Kelsey Allen of Wendell, MA (9:31:11). Fourth through Tenth Place went to Kehr Davis of Gt Barrington, MA (9:49:33), Samantha LeBlanc of Woburn, MA (9:56:10), Anna Piskorska of Blandon, PA (10:08:43), Doreen Fanton of Wellsville, NY (10:13:03), Olga Huber of Macedon, NY (10:52:26), Julie Deery of Bala Cynwyd, PA (11:58:41) and Cheryl Steiner of Castorland, NY (12:43:10).

Winners of age group awards were Kehr Davis (40-44), Olga Huber (45-49) and Julie Deery (50-54).

Complete results can be found at rednewtracing.com/CayugaTrails.  41 of the 163 finishers were USATF members.