Oct 20, 2019 at 10:00 AM

Carrera La Chupinaya/NACAC Mountain Running Championships

Guadalupe Victoria 38

Ajijic, Jalisco 45920


Event Facebook page

Event Twitter feed

Entry Fee $20
(Lowest or Early Registration)

Entry Fee 2 $25
(Highest or Late Registration)

Prize Money: no


  • 13.8K
  • 6.5K

Type: Mountain

Participant Limit: 750

Course Map: Download Map

Starting Elevation: 4921

High Point: 8103

Percent of the course on un-paved trails: 80%

First Year of the Event: 1996

Men's Record: Joe Gray 1:16:46

Masters Men Record: RANULFO SANCHEZ 1:19:06

Women's Record: Brandy Erholtz: 1:39:01

Masters Women Record: MARCELA CAMARENA 1:57:14


Start from the plaza and head east on Guadalupe Victoria three blocks. Turn left onto J Encarnacion Rosas to head north. Take a right onto Al Tepalo to cut the next corner. This will soon merge onto Galeana. Shortly thereafter watch for the trailhead to your left on the turn. Head up the rocky trail, stay left at the next intersection. The trail will head up and cross back and forth over various streams (depth wildly dependent on recent rainfall). Before long you’ll come to a rock outcropping which you’ll climb over to cross the top of the waterfall. Soon you’ll head to your left (west) and surprisingly drop for a short distance (400m or so). Next the big climb will start with many switchbacks, exposed cliff sides and rock outcroppings to be scrambled over. The climb ends at the steel cross. Turn right and follow the trail to the grotto. Continue on the ridge for a mile and a half with multiple ups and downs. The trail will now drop sharply and head straight down until it reconnects just before the waterfall. Retrace your route back to the start.


Race event photo
Race event photo
Race event photo


Past Event Dates

Held on Oct 20, 2019

Held on Jul 15, 2018

Held on Jul 16, 2017

Held on Jul 17, 2016

Held on Jul 19, 2015

Held on Jul 20, 2014

Held on Aug 11, 2013

Held on Aug 26, 2012

Held on Aug 15, 2010

Held on Aug 17, 2008

Held on Jun 24, 2007

Event Results

View 2015 Results